The Food and Drug Agency (FDA) was established in 1995 as one of the divisions under the Ministry of Public Health. The FDA division was upgraded to a separate department in April, 2013. The aim of the department is to ensure the safety and quality of Food, Drugs, Medical Devices and Cosmetics in the country. FDA Headquarter is located in Benin, with five major divisions:

Administrative division, Drug Control division, Food Control division, Cosmetic and Medical Device Control division and Laboratory division control activities have greatly expanded with the establishment of new FDA branches in other Regions and State.